You are my safe place.

Recently a dear friend introduced me to the phenomenon of FOMO (fear of missing out). Spending the last eight years raising two children has induced some terrifying FOMO attacks, which I am pleased to report are normally short lived.
I think creatives are notorious for such behaviour, ever questing, dreaming and thinking. I smoke and drink too much, I eat all the bad foods and watch lots of cartoons. Am I disappointed in myself? No. I would be disappointed in myself if I wasn’t following my dreams and my heart, which I am.
Don’t be so hard on yourself.
Is it important for me to be a size 8 and working a job I hate everyday so I can pay for an attractive looking prison, a car that’s killing the planet and a gym membership so I can keep that nice size 8 figure? If that’s what makes you happy, that’s cool you carry on, much respect and all that.
I am not missing out I am joining in by being part of a creative scene. Contribute, motivate, curate and participate. Everyone needs a safe place.
I have met the most wonderful human beings in the last decade, made life long friends, seen and heard things that would on one hand make your toes curl and on the other blow your mind.
I try to draw everyday and I fail constantly but the will is there and I hope that never evaporates. My brain spills out onto a page in a riot of colour. Thoughts made visible to the naked eye.
Then it’s back down to earth to clean up my son, answer a shitty email and pay a bill.
You are not missing out.

20130303-104633.jpg

Leave a Reply

