Happy New Year!

Yes I’m back after a good 2 week break up in Cumbria, it was a wonderful Christmas apart from an unwelcome chest infection.

I hope everyone had a restful and joyful time.

Well what shall I kick off 2011 with? I have to say I am absolutely loving ‘The Long thread’ its a brilliant crafty blog written by Ellen Baker and deserves high praise indeed. I was thrilled to see a top 100 tutorials of 2010 on there, so definatly check it out and get inspired to make, do and mend in 20111

One of my favourite tutorials has to be the tape printing one on ‘How about orange’.  Its so easy and really effective, I think I will have a shot at this one and let you know how it turns out.

Also dont forget that I am running a sewing class on February the 12th, there are only 4 places left and tuition is the bargain price of £20, this is an intro price. Tuition will rise to £40.00 for a day after this, so its a real bargain. Most sewing classes charge around £60 -£85 for a days workshop! I have decided to keep cost down so I can share my love of sewing, I will probably break even, I hope.

Just to let you know the class is still going ahead for the 12th February at the Friendship Centre on Elm Grove, here is a short itinerary of the day:

10.30 arrive and introductions/cup of tea
11.00 choosing fabrics and sketch designs
11.45 pattern cutting and prep assembly
12.30 – 1.00pm Lunch break
1.00 – 2.00pm Getting round the sewing machine and technique
2.00 – 3.00pm Finishing touches

I have a supply of fabric I will be bringing though it may not be to everyones tastes! Remember you will be making a bag that will loved and cherished so you may want to purchase your own fabric to bring with you (I will still have fabric for lining your bag/pockets handles etc, I will also have a healthy supply of buttons,ribbons and trims).

 

 

Leave a comment